Past Winners

The Company: The Rise and Fall of the Hudson’s Bay Empire and Value(s): Building A Better World for All

2021 Winner. By Stephen R. Bown & Mark Carney. Published by Doubleday Canada.

VIVA MˑAˑC: AIDS, Fashion, and the Philanthropic Practices of MˑAˑC Cosmetics

2020 Winner. By Andrea Benoit. Published by University of Toronto Press.

MELTDOWN: Why Our Systems Fail and What We Can Do About It

2019 Winner. By Chris Clearfield and András Tilcsik. Published by Allen Lane Canada (Penguin Random House Canada).

THE PATCH: The People, Pipelines and Politics of the Oil Sands

2018 Winner. By Chris Turner. Published by Simon & Schuster.

A Field Guide to Lies: Critical Thinking in the Information Age

2017 Winner. By Daniel J. Levitin. Published by Allen Lane Canada (Penguin Random House Canada).

Losing the Signal: The Spectacular Rise and Fall of Blackberry

2016 Winner. By Jacquie McNish and Sean Silcoff. Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.

Tell Everyone: Why We Share and Why it Matters

2015 Winner. By Alfred Hermida. Published by Doubleday Canada.

The Third Rail: Confronting Our Pension Failures

2014 Winner. By Jim Leech and Jacquie McNish. Published by Signal, an imprint of McClelland & Stewart.

The Rise of the West and Canada’s New Power Elite

2009 Winner.By Gordon Pitts, published by Key Porter Books.

Plutocrats: The Rise of the New Global Super-Rich and the Fall of Everyone Else

2013 Winner. By Chrystia Freeland, published by Doubleday Canada.

The Upside of Down

2007 Winner. By Thomas Homer-Dixon, published by Alfred A. Knopf Canada / Random House of Canada Limited.

Ethical Oil: The Case for Canada’s Oil Sands

2011 Winner. By Ezra Levant, published by McClelland & Stewart.

Profiting the Crown: Canada’s Polymer Corporation, 1942-1990

2006 Winner By Matthew J. Bellamy, published by McGill-Queen's University Press.

Why Your World is About to Get a Whole Lot Smaller: Oil and the End of Globalization

2010 Winner. By Jeff Rubin, published by Random House Canada.

Wrong Way: The Fall of Conrad Black

2005 Winner. By Jacquie McNish and Sinclair Stewart, published Penguin Group (Canada).

The Human Factor: Revolutioinizing the Way People Live With Technology

2004 Winner. By Kim Vicente, published by Alfred A. Knopf Canada.

The Bubble and The Bear: How Nortel Burst the Canadian Dream

2003 Winner. By Douglas Hunter, published by Doubleday Canada.

Free Rider: How a Bay St. Whiz Kid Stole and Spent $20 Million

2002 Winner. By John Lawrence Reynolds, published by McArthur & Company.

No Logo: Taking Aim at the Brand Bullies

2001 Winner. By Naomi Klein, published by Alfred A. Knopf Canada.

Unnatural Harvest — How Genetic Engineering is Altering Our Food

2000 Winner By Ingeborg Boyens, published by Doubleday Canada.

Fever: The Dark Mystery of the Bre-X Gold Rush

1999 Winner. By Jennifer Wells, published by Penguin Books of Canada Ltd.

The Reichmanns — Family, Faith, Fortune, and the Empire of Olympia & York

1998 Winner. By Anthony Bianco, published by Random House Canada.

Who Killed Confederation Life? The Inside Story

1997 Winner. By Rod McQueen, published by McClelland & Stewart.

Driving Force: The McLaughlin Family and the Age of the Car

1996 Winner. By Heather Robertson, published by McClelland & Stewart.

The Edible Man: Dave Nichol, President’s Choice & the Making of Popular Taste

1995 Winner. By Anne Kingston, published by Macfarland Walter & Ross.

Quick to the Frontier: Canada’s Royal Bank

1994 Winner. By Duncan McDowall, published by McClelland & Stewart.

Self Serve: How Petro-Canada Pumped Canadians Dry

1993 Winner. By Peter Foster, published by Macfarlane Walter & Ross.

Faith & Fear — The Free Trade Story

1992 Winner. By G. Bruce Doern and Brian W. Tomlin, published by Stoddart Published Co. Limited.

Steinberg: The Breakup of a Family Empire
1991 Winner. By Ann Gibbon and Peter Hadekel, published by Macmillan of Canada

1990 Winner. By Ian Brown, published by Harper & Collins

Shutting Down the National Dream
1989 Winner. By Greig Stewart, published by McGraw-Hill Ryerson Limited

Northern Enterprise
1988 Winner. By Michael Bliss published by McClelland & Stewart

Harvest From The Rock
1987 Winner. By Phillip Smith, published by Macmillan of Canada

A Matter of Trust
1986 Winner. By Ann Shortell and Patricia Best, published by Viking Books