NBBA on Twitter Follow us on Twitter

Eligibility, Criteria, and Requirements

The National Business Book Award honours excellence in writing on subjects of relevance to the Canadian business community. The $30,000 prize is open to non-fiction books written by Canada citizens or landed immigrants and published in English or French in Canada between January 1st and December 31st, 2019. A work by two authors is acceptable–as are essay collections–provided the work is integrated and cohesive. Nominees come from many sectors, including journalists, academics, business people, public sector workers, and writers.


To be eligible, books must be Canadian business-related and published in 2019. Accepted themes include business management, business history, business biography or economics in or associated with Canada.

As the list of past winners attests, the award identifies books that are provocative, great reads, and relevant to a wide readership. Books that celebrate the accomplishments of Canadian business at home and abroad are welcome, as are those that cast a more critical eye on business practices.


The jury evaluates eligible nominations on five criteria:

  • Originality
  • Relevance
  • Excellence of Writing
  • Reliance on Primary Research
  • Acuity of Analysis

Publisher Requirements

By completing the nomination form, publishers and authors agree to have the book submitted and will comply with the guidelines of the National Business Book Award.

Publishers will work in cooperation with the National Business Book Award to promote their authors.

The publisher (or author if self-published) agrees to pay, within 30 days of the Shortlist/Finalist announcement, $1,500 per shortlisted book as a contribution in support of the advertising and promotion costs incurred by the National Business Book Award.

Permission from the NBBA is required when using seal artwork on reprints of shortlisted or winning books.

Mention of the National Business Book Award is requested on reprints of the finalist and winning books.

Publishers will encourage their authors who are named finalists to attend the Award Ceremony. 

Books are required free of charge for the nomination process, publicity purposes, and for the award ceremony.

An eBook or PDF version of the book is requested if available.

The winner is required to participate in an event hosted by key partners within one year after the award presentation.  

The deadline for submission is January 17th, 2020. The completed entry form must be accompanied by seven (7) copies of the book for consideration by the jury.  Books must be delivered on a Tuesday, Wednesday, or Thursday.

The copies of the book can be sent directly to:

National Business Book Award
c/o Mary Ann Freedman
Suite 701. 45 St. Clair Ave West
Toronto, Ontario
M4V 1K9

Please note that all copies of the book become the property of the National Business Book Award and cannot be returned.

For more information, please contact:

Mary Ann Freedman
Freedman & Associates Inc.
(416) 868-1500