Canada’s National Business Book Award announces 2023 Finalists

Former Governor of The Bank of Canada Stephen Poloz wins $30,000 prize

Toronto, ON November 8, 2023 – The National Business Book Award today announced that The Next Age of Uncertainty: How the World Can Adapt to a Riskier Future has been named the winning book for the 2023 award and its $30,000 prize. The book, authored by Stephen Poloz, former Governor of The Bank of Canada, was published by Allen Lane Canada/Penguin Random House Canda. The prize was presented to the author at an award luncheon in Toronto.

In The Next Age of Uncertainty: How the World Can Adapt to a Riskier Future, Stephen Poloz shares an explanation of how the central bank works and why it does what it does – especially in an age of chronic uncertainty. He argues that past crises from the Victorian Depression in the late 1800s to the more recent downturn in 2008, foreshadow what is in store for us in the decades ahead. He looks at this uncertainty in the context of five distinct forces that impact the economy both individually and in concert with one another over the long term. These are: population aging, technological progress, rising inequality, growing debt (personal and government), and climate change.

Stephen Poloz is one of the world’s most respected economists with over 40 years of experience in economic and investment research, forecasting, banking, and policymaking, including seven years as Governor of the Bank of Canada.

“Once again, the business books submitted for consideration in 2023 demonstrate a remarkable calibre of research, writing, analysis and original thought,” said NBBA sponsor Miles Nadal, Founder and Executive Chairman of Peerage Capital Group. “It was a tough decision to land on one winner.”

The 2023 National Book Award finalists are:

  • Unprecedented – Canada’s Top CEOs on Leadership During COVID-19
    Compiled and Edited by Steve Mayer and Andrew Willis
    Signal, an imprint of McClelland & Stewart
  • No Bootstraps When You’re Barefoot: My Rise from a Jamaican Plantation Shack to the Boardrooms of Bay Street
    Wes Hall
    Random House Canada

The NBBA winner is selected by an independent jury which evaluates each submission based on originality, relevance, excellence of writing, thoroughness of research and depth of analysis. The jury is chaired by Deirdre McMurdy, Peerage Capital and includes: Anna Porter, author, and publisher; Bobby Siu, PhD, management consultant and 2022 NBBA shortlisted author; and Senator Pamela Wallin.

Past NBBA winners include Adam Miron, Sébastien St-Louis & Julie Beun, Stephen R. Bown, Mark Carney, Jeff Rubin, Gordon Pitts, Naomi Klein, Canada’s Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister Chrystia Freeland, Daniel Levitin, and Andrea Benoit. For a full list of past winners, visit:

Canada’s National Business Book Award is generously sponsored by presenting sponsor Miles S. Nadal and supporting partners Peerage Realty Partners, Stephen J.R. Smith, The Globe and Mail, and The Walrus.

Follow us on Twitter @NBBAward and visit for more information.

For copies of the books, author photos and interviews please contact:
Mary Ann Freedman, Freedman & Associates Inc.
Tel: 416-523-8681