New Partners Announced for 35th Anniversary of Canada’s National Business Book Award

TORONTO, July 20, 2020 – Freedman & Associates is excited to announce the partners for the 2020 National Business Book Award, Canada’s most prestigious literary award for business writing. In celebration of the award’s 35th anniversary, business law firm Bennett Jones is joined by Miles S. Nadal, entrepreneur and philanthropist, as Co-Presenting Partners.

Business leader Stephen J.R. Smith, has stepped in as a new Supporting Partner joining  DeGroote School of Business at McMaster University. Media partners are The Globe and Mail, The Walrus and Manscorp Media Services. 

National Business Book Award authors are internationally recognized as leaders in spotting current and future Canadian and global business issues. Thought leadership and strategy, history and politics, and big personalities in the business world are examples of the important topics and stories told over the history of the award.

To mark the 35th anniversary, the Award has a new look and will be featuring a retrospective of Canada’s best business authors and their books on social media (@NBBAward).  Past winners include Deputy Prime Minister Chrystia Freeland, Naomi Klein, Daniel Levitin, Jacquie McNish and Gordon Pitts.  For the full list of past winners, visit:

The winner of the $30,000 prize will be revealed on November 18, 2020, at the Award Ceremony. The Award Ceremony is tentatively scheduled to be in-person in Toronto but is subject to change based on health and safety recommendations.

“The National Business Book Award honours authors who give us a better understanding of the world around us and in some cases, direction for the future.  I believe that that’s why the NBBA is one of the longest-running literary awards in Canada,” says Mary Ann Freedman, President of Freedman & Associates Inc. who manages the award.

“We are thrilled to celebrate the 35th anniversary of the National Business Book Award as a partner for the third year,” says Gino Scapillati, Vice Chair, Strategy and Innovation at Bennett Jones. “This award shines a spotlight on critical business issues through the eyes of Canada’s most talented business writers, and we are honoured to be part of the conversation.”

“As a long-time champion of entrepreneurship in Canada, I think it is important to share the narrative of successful businesses and their leaders,” said Miles Nadal. “We need strong role models and inspiration to inspire next generation innovation. The stories told by NBBA authors help us to position for the future.”

Chris Clearfield and András Tilcsik were the 2019 winners for their book Meltdown: Why Our Systems Fail and What We Can Do About It, published by Allen Lane Canada (Penguin Random House Canada). The book combines leading-edge social sciences research with riveting real-life stories to explore how our brains struggle to keep up with today’s fast-paced world and provides solutions for how to prevent ‘meltdowns’.

The National Business Book Award curates, promotes and commemorates excellence in business writing across Canada. The award’s distinguished jury is chaired by Peter Mansbridge and includes Leonard Waverman, Dean of DeGroote School of Business; Deirdre McMurdy, Adjudicator; David Denison, corporate director; author and publisher Anna Porter and Senator Pamela Wallin. Nominations are judged based on five key criteria including originality, relevance, excellence of writing, thoroughness of research and depth of analysis.

Follow us on Twitter @NBBAward and visit for more information.

For further information or to arrange an interview please contact:
Mary Ann Freedman, Freedman & Associates Inc.
Tel: 416-868-1500, Email: