Celebrating Canada’s brightest business minds and inspiring the next generation of business leaders.

The National Business Book Award is an award presented to Canadian business authors. The award, presented every year since 1985, recognizes outstanding talent in Canadian business writing. The $30,000 award is determined by a panel of prominent individuals from the business and academic sectors. This year marks the 35th year of curating the conversation in Canadian business.


Bennett Jones

Miles Nadal

Supported by

DeGroote McMaster

Stephen Smith

Stephen Smith

Globe and Mail

The Walrus


Freedman & Associates

For information on sponsorship opportunities please contact:

Mary Ann Freedman
mafreedman [at] freedmanandassociates.com


Latest News

Winner of the business literary award to receive $30,000 prize TORONTO, August 26, 2020 — The finalists for the 2020 National Business Book Award (NBBA), one of Canada’s most prestigious literary awards, were announced today by presenting sponsors, law firm Bennett Jones LLP and entrepreneur and philanthropist Miles S. Nadal. Celebrating its 35th anniversary, the […] READ MORE >

Latest News

TORONTO, July 20, 2020 – Freedman & Associates is excited to announce the partners for the 2020 National Business Book Award, Canada’s most prestigious literary award for business writing. In celebration of the award’s 35th anniversary, business law firm Bennett Jones is joined by Miles S. Nadal, entrepreneur and philanthropist, as Co-Presenting Partners. Business leader Stephen […] READ MORE >

Latest News

Chris Clearfield and András Tilcsik win $30,000 prize at the 2019 National Business Book Award for Meltdown: Why Our Systems Fail and What We Can Do About It, published by Allen Lane. TORONTO, June 5th, 2019 – Chris Clearfield and András Tilcsik have won the National Business Book Award for their book, Meltdown:  Why Our […] READ MORE >